Cyber Security


A type of cyber attack in which the attacker gains ongoing access to the system to mine highly sensitive data. The attacker remains undetected for an extended period of time.


Software tools and programs designed to prevent, detect and remove malicious software, or malware, on IT systems, from infecting computer systems or electronic devices.

Anti Spam Firewall

A software or hardware appliance-based firewall. It is used to keep spam and malware from entering a system.


Provides big data security analytics and intelligence software for security information and event management (SIEM) and log management solutions. ArcSight ESM collects, correlates, and reports on security event information.


A process of determining and confirming user´s identity. Ensures whether someone or something is who or what it declares itself to be.


Stands for Cisco Certified Network Associate. An associate-level Cisco career certification.


Stands for Cisco Certified Network Professional. A professional-level Cisco Career Certification.


Stands for Certified Ethical Hacker. A certification obtained by demonstrating knowledge of assessing the security of computer systems by looking for weaknesses and vulnerabilities in target systems, using the same knowledge and tools as a malicious hacker, but in a lawful and legitimate manner to assess the security posture of a target system. It is issued by the organization EC-Council.


Stands for Certified Information Systems Auditor. Issued by ISACA for the people in charge of ensuring that an organization's IT and business systems are monitored, managed and protected. It demonstrates that an individual is is able to assess vulnerabilities, report on compliance and institute controls within the enterprise.

Cisco Certifications

A list of the Certifications offered by Cisco Systems. They offer five levels of network certification: Entry, Associate, Professional, Expert, and Architect.


Stands for Certified Information Security Manager. Issued by ISACA. Demonstrates that an individual is able to manage, design, and oversee and assess an enterprise’s information security.


Stands for Certified Information Systems Security Professional. Independent information security certification issued by the International Information System Security Certification Consortium, also known as (ISC)². Demonstrates that an individual is able to effectively design, implement and manage a best-in-class cybersecurity program.

Cloud Security

A set of policies, controls, procedures, and technologies that ensure the protection of cloud-based systems, data, applications, and infrastructures.

Computer Forensics

Determines and reveals technical criminal evidence to provide a conclusive description of cyber crime activities. May also be used in civil proceedings. It refers only to the investigation of computers.


A practice of secure communication techniques. Information and communication are protected through the use of codes. Only those who possess a secret key can decipher the message into plain text.

Cyber Risk Remediation Analysis

A methodology for selecting countermeasures to minimize a cyber-asset's susceptibility to cyber-attack over a range of attack TTPs associated with the Advanced Persistent Threat (APT).

Digital Forensics

A branch of forensic science. Refers to detecting, preserving, analyzing and presenting of evidence found on any digital storage media devices.


Data loss protection (DLP) is a set of tools and processes. Detects and prevents data breaches, exfiltration, or unwanted destruction of sensitive data. 

DoD 8570

Information Assurance Workforce Improvement Program. Provides procedures and guidelines for the training, certification, and management of all DoD employees who perform IA functions in their official assigned duties.


Stands for the Enterprise Mission Assurance Support Service. An automated tool helps the Department of Defense (DoD) to maintain Information Assurance (IA) situational awareness, manage risk, and comply with the Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA).


A process of converting data or information into another form, or code, to make it unreadable for unauthorized users. Only people who know a descryption key can read it.


Stands for GIAC Certified Intrusion Analyst. A certification issued by Global Information Assurance Certification. Demonstrates that an individual is able to configure and monitor intrusion detection systems, and to read, interpret, and analyze network traffic and related log files.


Stands for GIAC Certified Incident Handler. A certification issued by Global Information Assurance Certification. Demonstrates that an individual is able to understand what a Security Incident is and to deal with an incident after it has occurred.


Stands for a Governance Risk and Compliance. It facilitates the formulation and sustained management of information security risks.


Stands for GIAC Security Essentials Certification. Issued by Global Information Assurance Certification. Demonstrates that an individual understands information security beyond simple terminology and concepts.

Development by

Sign up for updates
straight to your inbox